Metrolink News

Thursday May 18, 2017

LOS ANGELES – Beginning May 25, Metrolink passengers traveling to or from any of the four 91/Perris Valley Line (91/PV Line) Extension stations can take advantage of a new discount program. The stations included are Riverside-Hunter Park/UCR, Moreno Valley/March Field, Perris-Downtown and Perris-South.

There are two separate discounts: one for trips connecting to stations outside of Riverside County and another within Riverside County.

The first discount allows for all fares to or from the 91/PV Line Extension stations connecting to outside of Riverside County to be sold as though Riverside-Downtown is the origin or destination.

For example, a trip between Perris-South and Los Angeles Union Station will be the same cost as a trip between Riverside-Downtown and Los Angeles Union Station.

The second promotion provides trips within Riverside County to or from the extension stations at a 25 percent discount.

The discounts will provide reduced fares as an incentive for passengers to try the new stations. The six-month promotional discount is funded by the Riverside County Transportation Commission (RCTC).

“We have experienced a steady increase in ridership since the 91/PV Line extension opened last year and hope the newest discount attracts even more passengers,” said Metrolink Board Chair and City of San Jacinto Councilmember Andrew Kotyuk, who also serves as an RCTC commissioner. “The extension of the 91/Perris Valley Line is a wonderful way to enjoy a stress-free ride on Metrolink, saving time and money, while avoiding the congestion of the 215.”

A current 25% discount on all fares to and from 91/PV Line Extension stations will expire on May 24. With the new promotion, the trip costs will still be lower than the regularly-priced fare.

The extension of the 91/PV Line opened in June 2016. Service begins as early as 4:43 a.m. from the Perris-South Station, providing round-trip service to and from Los Angeles Union Station. Evening trains return as late as 7:50 p.m. to the Perris Valley. There are also three round-trips trains each weekday connecting Perris and the Riverside-Downtown Station.

For more information about Metrolink, please visit


Metrolink is Southern California's regional commuter rail service in its 24th year of operation. Metrolink is governed by The Southern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA), a joint powers authority made up of an 11-member board representing the transportation commissions of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino and Ventura counties. Metrolink operates seven routes through a six-county, 538 route-mile network. Metrolink’s passengers travel approximately 441 million miles each year, making Metrolink the second busiest public transportation provider in Southern California. Metrolink is the third largest commuter rail agency in the United States based on directional route miles and the eighth largest based on annual ridership.